While I usually review books I’ve read, I thought for my first article of the new year, it might be fun to preview books I plan on reading in the upcoming months. When looking at my want-to-read list, the quote “so many books, so little time” comes to mind.

Working at the library, I often find myself intrigued by the books patrons bring up to check out and also come across titles in the stacks that pique my interest. The library offers a handy feature in that you can put a book on your hold list and suspend it, saving it for a later date if you don’t have time to read it now. Unfortunately, I find myself putting way too many titles on it if I ever want to catch up.

The following books are ones that I didn’t find time to read in 2015 but I plan on making time for in 2016. This is just small sampling of the books I plan on reading from the library. I won’t even go into the multitude of stacks sitting in my house that I’ve bought but not yet read.

First on my list is Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemede. This title caught my attention by being listed on different sites as a must-read new title. In 1919, Rachel Rabinowitz is a young orphan in the Hebrew Infant Home where Dr. Solomon is performing dangerous x-ray experiments on its inhabitants. Years later, still suffering from the results, Rachel is a nurse in a hospice wing where she discovers Dr. Solomon is now a patient. What price is she willing to pay to exact justice for herself and the other orphans?

As a fan of a multitude of mysteries, I’m always interested to find a new author or series. The library has received a first book in what could be a very interesting mystery genre. Sister Eve, Private Eye by Lynne Hinton is about a nun in New Mexico who gets a visit from a police officer. Her father, once a police captain but now a private investigator, is recovering from surgery and needs her help. Sister Eve finds herself taking on his latest case. This sounds like it could be a fun start to a promising series.

Geraldine Brooks’ newest title, The Secret Chord, has sat on my list for longer than it should. A historical Christian fiction book, it covers King David’s rise from lowly shepherd boy to beloved king, his journey to murderous ruler and his remorseful descent into a diminished dotage. As a fan of Year of Wonders and March by Brooks, I’m sure this latest title should be an outstanding read, and I plan on putting it towards the top of my list.

Even though there is an ever-growing list of new books coming out that I want to read, occasionally I find myself working my way through old favorites. The Shannara series by Terry Brooks is one that has reawakened a craving. After re-reading The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara is waiting its turn to be picked up again. For anyone looking for a series similar to The Lord of the Rings, Terry Brooks will fit the bill. Filled with elves, dwarfs, orcs, goblins and the ever-present struggle of good against evil, these novels are an absolute treat. Sometimes there is nothing better than settling down with a good book that you’ve read before and you know will be a comforting treat.

Finally, I find myself working my way through classics that I haven’t yet had the pleasure to enjoy. Edna Ferber is an often underappreciated author, and So Big is on my to-read list. This book, considered Ferber’s best work, covers the highs and lows of Chicago at the turn of the 20th Century. So Big follows the life of Selina Peake DeJong, daughter of a gambler, who tries to maintain her family, sanity and dignity in the face of overwhelming challenges.

Until Publisher’s Clearing House shows up with my check, I will have to balance my reading time with my job and other responsibilities. But all of these books, along with many others, are ones I look forward to reading this upcoming year. These titles are all available for checkout at the Joplin Public Library.

