The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, by Jeff Hertzberg, MD, and Zoe Francois

Although I am fascinated by books about bread-baking, it’s a good thing that my abilities in that area are virtually non-existent. Otherwise you’d most likely always see me with a baguette in one hand and a gigantic soft pretzel in the other.

However, I have hope that someday my pizza crusts will turn out crispy yet chewy instead of tough and dense, and bread loaves will resemble something other than a brick. Until that day, I might have to rely on the fabulous bread and pizza crusts sold by Joplin’s Mohaska Farmhouse so that I can sample the recipes in this cookbook, such as an Aubergine Tartine, or eggplant sandwich, and the Rustic Wild Mushroom and Potato Pizza Provencal.

By the way, for those of you who must maintain a gluten-free diet or choose to do so, there is an entire chapter devoted to gluten-free breads.

