The Cheesy Vegan, by John Schlimm

I’ve been a vegetarian for more than 20 years, forgoing meat, poultry and seafood, as well as their byproducts such as gelatin and fish sauce. But the one thing that has held me back from being a vegan for more than a few weeks is cheese. Yummy, yummy cheese. The store-bought vegan substitutes, in all their processed ickiness, fail to capture the wonder that is cheese derived from milk.

That being said, I need to try my hand at vegan cheese-making sometime, as I usually have the basics, such as tofu, soy milk and cashews or other nuts, on hand. “The Cheesy Vegan” would be a helpful starting point, with the first part of the book providing recipes for everything from a few different types of Cheddar, to Brie, to, oddly enough, blue.

Even if my experiment fails and I not-so-tragically have to resort to regular cheese, this book still has some potentially tasty recipes, such as the Spoonable Bloody Queen Mary or Outta the Park Shiitake Sliders.