“The Vegetarian Meat and Potatoes Cookbook” by Robin Robertson

 

Every vegetarian is met with the same questions – some faintly hostile, others simply curious – time and again. “Why did you stop eating meat?” and “How do you get enough protein?” are the most common, but I’ve also heard, “Don’t you miss meat?”

 

In answer to that last question, I refer you to “The Vegetarian Meat and Potatoes Cookbook.” If you have little experience converting favorite or classic recipes to vegetarian versions, this might be the resource for you. I know that I have consulted it for years. In fact, my own copy is ridiculously dog-eared, crinkled and stained.

 

Among my favorites? Fauxscargot. I must admit that back in the day I was fond of the buttery, garlicky chewiness of cooked snails. When I’m feeling sentimental and decadent, I break out this recipe, which uses shiitake mushroom caps instead of snails.

 

If you’re looking for something heartier, try the Louisiana Vegetable Gumbo, Barbecued Tempeh or Shepherd’s Vegetable Pie. There is even an entire chapter devoted to potato dishes if you truly are a “meat and potatoes” person.

